December 9, 2022


Art Is Experience

Berlin festival chooses 6 former winners as this year’s jury

BERLIN – A 6-member jury of former winners has been preferred to allocate the prizes at this year’s Berlin International Movie Pageant, which is using spot in a revamped kind simply because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Organizers introduced in December that the “Berlinale,” ordinarily the first of the year’s major European film festivals, will be break up into two elements simply because of coronavirus restrictions.

An on the net celebration for the industry, with the jury picking out the winners, is to be held March one-five. Strategies get in touch with for a “summer specific” to adhere to June nine-20, at which the general public will get a prospect to see the winners and a assortment of other movies. The award ceremony is to choose spot in June.

The festival stated Monday that it is also using a new strategy to the intercontinental jury this 12 months. It will do without a jury president, and instead is owning 6 administrators whose movies all received the event’s prime Golden Bear award judge this year’s entries.


The jury features the administrators of the five most recent winners: Iran’s Mohammad Rasoulof, Nadav Lipid from Israel, Romania’s Adina Pintilie, Hungary’s Ildiko Enyedi and Gianfranco Rosi of Italy. They are joined by Jasmila Zbanic of Bosnia, who received in 2006.

“They express not only various approaches of building uncompromising movies and generating daring stories but also they represent a component of the historical past of the Berlinale,” creative director Carlo Chatrian stated in a statement.

The assortment of movies is predicted to be introduced later this thirty day period.

Copyright 2021 The Involved Press. All legal rights reserved. This content may not be revealed, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without authorization.